Wednesday, November 26, 2014

Sunday, November 23, 2014

Friday, November 21, 2014

Thursday, November 20, 2014

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Tough Luck: Toughie Brasuhn







Read more about Toughie here and also here.

Photos via.

Monday, November 17, 2014

Sunset travels

Marty San, where were you? Jet Blue was not the same without Max Von Mayerling.

Thursday, November 13, 2014

Lethal Travels

 Return to Dino's, a regular spot since 1990.
Shabazz Chicken, Savannah.
my favorite neon sign ever, Savannah.

Monday, November 10, 2014

Ouspenskaya

for you, Marty San.

Get Down!

I try and learn a new dance every week.

Friday, November 07, 2014

Beauty, beauty

... look at you.
Facial at Helena Rubinstein's, Fifth Avenue, 1961.
Number 9, Number 9


Thursday, November 06, 2014

Sometimes, you just need a little ...

Sir John Gielgud.

But I can never have just a little Sir John without ...

Wednesday, November 05, 2014

Brian Donlevy is Expecting ...

I started writing something on Brian Donlevy today, then a friend turned the TV on to "Impact." What does one say? I find Donlevy irresistibly sexy. Dangerous Assignment is one of my insomnia staples (which doesn't say much for it, but in the 90s it was Kojak.) Glass Key, Quatermass, The Great McGinty - I love all Donlevys.

Monday, November 03, 2014

Oh, damn ...

I have a cold.  Attitude adjustment at once:


Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Thursday, October 23, 2014

Open locks, whoever knocks!

I have had keys since I was seven years old. A single house key, then two - one for my mother's house and another for my dad's apartment. I collected more keys: houses where I babysat and stayed for weeks on end, relatives, friends. New York apartment keys were usually three or more; having a dog upgraded my collection to a lanyard around my neck, always. Car keys, mailboxes, production offices, gates, garages, other dogs I walked, neighbor's spare sets - my keychain was a magnet. I was nearly arrested at JFK in the 90s after I forgot to remove a canister of tear gas hanging from it; airport security called NYPD but in the pre-9/11 flying days, I managed to get out of it.

I live a keyless life now. When I realized I didn't have any keys it hit me in a strange way. I felt an odd sense of loss mixed with freedom. Not the corny phrase, "One door closes, another opens" - but instead, "Doors open when you throw away the keys."

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Thursday, October 16, 2014

Lost Highway

Open-ended traveling rule #1: never ask yourself, "Where am I?"